Karmic: Happy with vmplayer, no longer searching the web for a any-any patch to get vmware-server running

For a couple of years I used vmware-server on my laptop. This was a hassle with all new kernels, as the vmware-drivers never built out of the box. It was always necessary to patch the driver sources to get them going.

I’m no kernel hacker and sometimes it was difficult to find the right patches on the web. At least once after a Ubuntu security kernel update the vmware-config.pl failed until I again managed to find a better (newer) patch.

Forget about this trouble. Use VMware Player 3.0.0. After a kernel update starting vmplayer gave me:

Hitting “Install” I got another screen informing me nicely about what was going on:

And I was done ! It simply worked !

But I forgot one important new feature of vmplayer 3.0.0: You can create new machines:

One Response to “Karmic: Happy with vmplayer, no longer searching the web for a any-any patch to get vmware-server running”

  1. linos Says:

    Very often I find myself having trouble to hit the ESC-key at the right time to get the Boot Menu. In this case it make my life easier to put just one additional line in the vmx-file of the virtual machine:

    bios.bootdelay = “20000”

    which gives you 20 secs time before booting continues.

Leave a Reply

