Karmic: ApacheDirectorStudio no longer usable and Workaround

I used ApacheDirectorStudio with sun-java5 without problems for at least a year. After changing to Karmic I installed sun-java6 and did a short test of ApacheDirectorStudio. I did not notice any problems.

Today I again ran ApacheDirectorStudio and this time I ran into trouble. No error message, but a button simply did not appear to work.

Being in trouble to do the real work done, I rebooted into my old Intrepid and did what had to be done.

Now I got a second to analyse the problem and finally found an hint on the Download page of ApacheDirectorStudio

Set

export GDK_NATIVE_WINDOWS=1

and then start ApacheDirectorStudio. Now the application works as expected. So the rootcause was not java6 vs. java5, but Gnome !

Leave a Reply

