Xfce 4.6: Change default settings to use workspaces more efficient

I use 10 workspaces to virtually enhance my screen’s size. My personal best practice is to have certain important applications on dedicated workspaces, e.g. thunderbird on no 2, firefox on no 3 and emacs on no 4.

If I get an email with an URL, clicking on that URL will bring up a new TAB in my running firefox. Unfortunately standard Xfce 4.6 in Karmic will switch the firefox window from workspace no 3 to the thunderbird workspace no 2.

I do not like this. I want the apps keep running on the workspace I started them on.

Finally I found this to make things work:


xfconf-query -c xfwm4 -p /general/activate_action -s switch

I really can recommend this – give it a try !

One Response to “Xfce 4.6: Change default settings to use workspaces more efficient”

  1. linos Says:

    This still applies for Xfce 4.8 in Karmic:

    bav@lulu:~$ xfconf-query -c xfwm4 -p /general/activate_action
    bring
    bav@lulu:~$ xfconf-query -c xfwm4 -p /general/activate_action -s switch
    bav@lulu:~$ xfconf-query -c xfwm4 -p /general/activate_action
    switch

Leave a Reply

