Java application issues: Lifebook reinstalled with i386

Yesterday I had my new Lifebook the first day in production. Unfortunately I had issues with a Java application which refused to start with the default Java in Hardy (I have to run Avocent DSView 3 to get server consoles and this is implemented in Java …).

So with openjdk-6-jre etc. and icedtea-gcjwebplugin as Web Browser Plugin
the application hung while loading. So I tried to switch back to sun-java5-jre but I had to learn that there is no package sun-java5-plugin for x86_64.

I can’t live without that ugly application – so in the evening I reinstalled my Lifebook with i386.

This is not fun – suggestions welcome !

Leave a Reply

