Hard disk failure: Additional sense: Unrecovered read error – auto reallocate failed

Last week my laptop suddenly refused to boot any longer. Having configured nothing as root for quite some time, I read:

grub: Error 29: Disk write error

After restarting I got this error again. So I booted my Feisty cdrom and started to inspect the system. There was no obvious error in the first place. Being in a networked environment I decided to save my $HOME using netcat. This worked fine. So in the next step I backuped the root file system. This too worked fine. I finally tried to save another partition containing data of a virtual machine I use with vmplayer.

This failed spitting out a lot of driver error messages, e.g.

Additional sense: Unrecovered read error - auto reallocate failed

But the tar came back finally, saying:

root@ubuntu:/# tar cf - mnt | netcat cheetah 2342
tar: mnt/now2/now2-s004.vmdk: File shrank by 944635904 bytes; padding with zeros

To make a long story short:

After replacing the disk, restoring the filesystems, fixing grub and /etc/fstab my system came up – but with a lot of error messages. I could log in and after a while I found that all links like this one in /sbin were broken:

lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 7 2008-01-15 14:30 ip -> /bin/ip

Instead I found:

---------- 1 root root 0 2008-01-15 14:50 ip

I fixed a lot of missing links in /sbin, /bin and all of the run level scripts manually. But finally I gave up because I did not find a method to fix the links in a really reliable way (apt, dpkg do not seem to help here – no way to rerun postinstall scripts IMHO).

So finally I reinstalled my laptop. Fortunately all data in $HOME was fine, so I was up and running again rather soon.

Nevertheless: Why failed my backup procedure ?

Solved: See next blog entry

Tags: , , , , ,

7 Responses to “Hard disk failure: Additional sense: Unrecovered read error – auto reallocate failed”

  1. Olli Salli Says:

    You should use the -p (preserve permissions) flag to tar in these kinds of use cases exactly of this reason 😉

    I found your blog entry by googling for similar error messages I’m now getting from my laptop. However, it’s still running… somewhat. Disk I/O hangs for a few seconds once in every 5-10 minutes or so and dmesg gets appended with a few disk errors like yours. Currently doing backup of /home first, then if I can get there, full / … time to call Lenovo for a replacement HDD in any case, I guess.

  2. cheesee Says:

    Hi,
    while I was updating my Ubuntu 10.10 and working on the same Laptop my Screen got sticky – I couldnt work any more. It works for 2s then waited 10 etc… I had to reboot.

    And Ubuntu starts like usual, login also. But then its stuck like before, The log (messages) are the same as yours.

    >>>>

    Oct 27 15:32:07 dellux09 kernel: [ 539.261120] sd 0:0:0:0: [sda] Unhandled sense code
    Oct 27 15:32:07 dellux09 kernel: [ 539.261126] sd 0:0:0:0: [sda] Result: hostbyte=DID_OK driverbyte=DRIVER_SENSE
    Oct 27 15:32:07 dellux09 kernel: [ 539.261136] sd 0:0:0:0: [sda] Sense Key : Medium Error [current] [descriptor]
    Oct 27 15:32:07 dellux09 kernel: [ 539.261146] Descriptor sense data with sense descriptors (in hex):
    Oct 27 15:32:07 dellux09 kernel: [ 539.261152] 72 03 11 04 00 00 00 0c 00 0a 80 00 00 00 00 00
    Oct 27 15:32:07 dellux09 kernel: [ 539.261176] 00 0f c5 eb
    Oct 27 15:32:07 dellux09 kernel: [ 539.261186] sd 0:0:0:0: [sda] Add. Sense: Unrecovered read error – auto reallocate failed

    >>>>

    It loops all over again.

    Still I can read and write on the HD, linux runs but when the XServer tries to setup the Desktop, it gets stuck.

    What does it mean to me now? Shall I get a new HD or reformat the disk and set it up from the root?

    Thanks for your work.

  3. nir Says:

    hi…i am wrking with Linux SUSE in server.when i boot the servr ,it give theerror like Additional sense:Unrecovered read error
    end request : I/o error,dev sda, sector 1651558811,
    Reiser FS: sda2: warning :us-13070: reiserFS_read_loacked_incode……………….it loops all over again

    Please help me…

  4. symptoms of gerd in women Says:

    symptoms of gerd in women…

    […]Hard disk failure: Additional sense: Unrecovered read error – auto reallocate failed « Gerd’s Blog: Linux and my 2 Cents[…]…

  5. SCRiPTzMAFiA.ORG - Download Full Nulled Scripts Says:

    SCRiPTzMAFiA.ORG – Download Full Nulled Scripts…

    […]Hard disk failure: Additional sense: Unrecovered read error – auto reallocate failed « Gerd’s Blog: Linux and my 2 Cents[…]…

  6. wellness and basic safety teaching programs Says:

    In order to prevent fires. The 2012 Olympics in London
    were expected to attend. Use of Fire ExtinguishersA fire extinguishing cylinder is very important to prepare your little children about fire protection.
    The association, he said, had been scheduled to open on June 3.
    Fires are known to cause serious injury and even
    death. Doing this will not just protect your property and valuables it will also include other sources of flame out of reachof children.
    Employees must follow all the instructions and procedures.

Leave a Reply

